Google+ Followers

Saturday, June 29, 2013

Saturday, June 29, 2013.....Pickleball No Volley Zone Clarification

Our Paso Robles Pickleball Club website: www.pickleballpasorobles.shutterfly.com

Eleven players arrived by 7:30 a.m. to brave soaring Paso Robles temperatures (it was close to 90 degrees by 10:00 a.m.).  We finished by 9:45.  Unusual, but so is this hot spell, which usually does not start until next month.  Nevertheless, good Pickleball was had by all.  Lots of improvement, players are taking the third shot more seriously, serves and service returns are more consistent, and the playing (or should I say the not playing) of "out" balls has shown marked improvement.  I have also noticed that players are playing wider (feet) and lower (knee flex), and are shuffling well at the No Volley Zone line line rather than crossover stepping.  This shuffling is not only wiser (less NVZ violations), it is also safer because balance is better maintained, and, there is less impact on the body.

Today's Pickleball Rule Interpretation involves the No Volley Zone.  It seems that the newer players are way too conscious of the NVZ zone and this affects their performance.  Tip toeing around the NVZ line is commonplace even when not necessary.  REMEMBER:  The No Volley Zone is just that.  You cannot VOLLEY (hit a ball that has not bounced) while in/touching any part of the NVZ.  If the ball has bounced (in the Kitchen/NVZ) or anywhere OUTSIDE of the NVZ, and was returned by you AFTER bouncing, you can enter the NVZ (because forward momentum carried you into the NVZ) without committing a violation.  Don't linger, because a smart opponent will hit the next one right to you hoping you will volley while standing in the NVZ.   O.K.....an example:  I serve, my opponent returns my serve (two bounce rule) BEYOND the NVZ line but relatively short, it bounces (of course....two bounce rule), I run forward and hit my third shot keeping it in play, but my MOMENTUM carries me into the NVZ. The fourth shot is hit to my partner and she puts away a winner.  Our opponent says that after my third shot, I entered sacred territory (the dreaded NVZ) and therefore a violation was committed.  RULING:  No.  The ball had bounced on our side, and it does not make any difference where it bounced (many people think that the only time you can enter the NVZ is when the ball bounces in the NVZ).....you can enter anytime the ball bounces anywhere on your side of the court.

Sixteen references to the NVZ in the above entry. Make that seventeen with this sentence.  It is to prove a point.  Get it out of your system.  The ZONE is your friend, not your enemy.

Went to Von's Supermarket after playing.  The parking lot reminded me.......

"There are two types of people in this world:  those who put their shopping carts away, and those who don't." Hmmmmmm..........

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments are welcome. Thank you.